GypsyRose

Taking the long way around

Some people reach a place in time where they've gone as far as they can.

Publicerad 2013-05-09 00:44:00 i Allmänt,

Ni minns Paul va? The skinny kiwi jag dejtade ett kort tag i Kanada? Vi är goda vänner nuförtiden och var det kanske hela tiden, och vi har lyckats skapa någon slags tradition att ses i olika delar av världen. Förra året hoppade han in i min blomsterbutik I Melbourne, och senast i januari spenderade vi en rolig helg i Stockholm tillsammans med Gabby, John o co innan han åkte tillbaka till London och vi flyttade till Oslo. Det här brevet hittade jag i mina gömmor. Här är inget heligt, så varsågod.

 

Dear Paul,

This is my goodbye to you. You know I prefer putting my words down on a piece of paper, instead of saying them to your face. Its been amazing to have you here, and to get to know you, but as we know; goodbyes are the greatest moments of life.

Me and Whistler will miss you, but Ill throw myself into the colorful world of flowers and Im sure I will once and for all win Whistler over on my side. The evenings are getting warmer, and I couldn’t be more grateful.  Im convinced its gonna be a beautiful summer, filled with happiness and new energy. All to make me ready to meet next challenge in another part of the world.

As much as I want to be selfish and keep you here, Im glad for you and the adventure you are just about to begin. There is so much world out there, waiting for you to make it your own playground. So many people to make your friends, music to be inspired of and food to be eaten. Your life is yours only, better make the best of it, life is too short to not leave all you know, to follow the rhythm of Mother earth. Each travel we do, makes us more humble. Im sure London will greet you like an old friend, if you let it. You´ll have a blast. And when you get tired of the Big Smoke, give me a bell and Ill show you my Sweden. I would be honored.

You are a cat Paul. You will always land on your feet. And if you ever end up lost in a situation and don’t know where to go, ask yourself these two questions; What would Jesus do, and what would Mikaela say? (She would probably tell you to go for it, don’t think too much, have that extra drink, always speak your mind, flirt with many but share your heart with a few, give away smiles too easy, laugh at your fears, dance on the streets and try not to be a grown up all the time…)

So, with this letter I would like to thank you for sharing a bit of your time with me. I think you are one of the reasons I want to grow up a bit. (I said a bit, ok?!)

In fact, my friend in Japan emailed me the other day, asking if I had found any happiness. I told him no, that I still was that lost girl he once knew. But that I was hanging out with this Kiwi, someone who made me want to be a better person when he was around.

And that pretty much says it all. I think that is the reason God makes our ways cross here and there in our travels. So we can inspire others, learn from new friends and share a bit of our lives with them.

Ill leave you with my favourite quote, that always has been important for me while travelling. A quote that keeps the fire awake, something to close the circle with. Because where ever you decide to place your hat for a while, is a place you can call home. To explore is to live, Paul. Don’t settle for anything less than the best, even if that means breaking up and moving on.

All my love, and say hi to UK from me.

“We shall not cease from exploration. And the end of all our exploring will be to arrive where we started, and know the place for the very first time. “

 

TS Eliot

 

Me n Paul back in the days, i ett nötskal. Jag lekte mest med såpbubblor medan han såg på, log och tyckte väl att jag var bedårande. Sedan lagade han mat till mig och vi hånglade massor. Fint. 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Om

Min profilbild

Mikaela Ingvarsdotter

29 yr ol´ Gypsyrose trying to find her way home while taking the long way around. Sees the world as her playground and doesnt have a clue where she´ll place her hat next. Blogs about travels, experiences and people she meets along the way and now mainly on the big move down under. Dont let the youth be wasted on the young!

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela